Uncategorized

Healthy Fettucine Alfredo

I’ve been making a mess lately.

Healthy Fettuccine Cauliflower Alfredo

A mess that starts with slurpy delicious noodles and ends with creamy healthy sauce.

I’m of the belief that Alfredo sauce is King. Even deep red tomato sauces (which are supposed to be deep and red) are at their best with the addition of a little cream. Which makes them not deep red anymore and more like a pinky-orange. Pink is fun, right? It’s just like I just try to make everything into Alfredo. That’s just what it’s like.

 

The truth about Fettuccine Alfredo, besides the truth that it’s the most cozy and comforting food known to humans, is that it has no business being in my life after I’ve spent the last 8 meals filling up on cornpumpkin bars, and stuffing. And PS: thank goodness that stuff makes great leftovers considering my Gatorade and cracker sickie Thanksgiving eats. If I may digress for a second, why is stuffing so.so.so.good? And with gravy? Ugh. The glory of eating again.

Cauliflower

Ok, so that picture. That was cauliflower.

Because this Fettuccine Alfredo is made with cauliflower.

AND, you guys. Now I am going to eat it forever.

Who knew that cauliflower puree could make an Alfredo sauce that is still really creamy and slurpy and cozy comfy good! And I can eat it anytime I want, even the week after Thanksgiving, because it’s not made with heavy cream and butter. Except there’s just a teeny bit of cream and butter, because what is Alfredo – even fakeAlfredo – without cream and butter?

But come on. Considering that most of this sauce is VEG-ET-ABLES, well, I don’t know, you tell me.

Tell me I should eat it every night. I dare you.

Healthy Cauliflower Alfredo

My mom brought me some fancy noodles when she came to visit – you know, the kind they sell at specialty boutiquey food stores that make you feel like quitting your life and moving to Italy and making homemade ice cream for the rest of time? Or the kind that somehow suck your money out of your purse and plant mass quantities of artisan chocolate bars in their place? Salted Toffee Dark Chocolate, anyone?

But the noodles. They were SWEET POTATO fettuccine noodles and they were kind of spicy, like Christmas-y nutmeg spicy. Those noodles with this sauce? It was the most amazing, comforting combination of textures, flavors, and spices in one big ol’ bowl of pasta.

Healthy Fettucine Alfredo

You would be wise to make this happen if you’re into the whole noodles and creamy sauce thing.

Healthy Alfredo Pasta

Standard

Leave a Reply

